McCarthy Motorola Coach of the Year

Head coach MIKE McCARTHY of the Green Bay Packers is the 2007 Motorola NFL Coach of the Year

In 2007, McCarthy took a Green Bay team that finished 8-8 last year to a 13-3 record securing the number two seed in the NFC and tying the Packers franchise record for wins in a season (13). McCarthy, who calls the plays on offense, led QB Brett Favre and an offense that came in second in total yards per game (370.7), and total passing yards (270.9), and fourth in total points scored (450). Favre also set four records this year, including the most wins by a quarterback (160), most career touchdown passes (442), and all-time career passing yards mark (61,655). To protect Favre, McCarthy employed the league's only offensive line that used five of their own draft choices as starters. On defense, the Packers were tied for sixth in the NFL allowing only 291 total points, as well as tied for sixth in interceptions (19). Green Bay is young and talented on defense, with only two starters in their 30s. On special teams, the Packers were able to rely on the foot of their rookie K Mason Crosby, who kicked 50+ yard field goals in three different games. McCarthy was nominated for two Motorola NFL Coach of the Week awards, winning both times.

Coach McCarthy led the Packers to their first NFC championship game since 1997, when they defeated the Carolina Panthers and went on to beat the New England Patriots in Super Bowl XXXI. In this postseason, the Packers defeated the Seattle Seahawks 42-20 on January 12, when RB Ryan Grant ran for 201 yards and scored three touchdowns. In this year's NFC Championship game, Brett Favre threw two touchdowns and passed for 236 yards in the Packers' 23 - 20 loss in overtime to the New York Giants.

A record number of over 501,000 fans voted on for the head coach whose game planning played the greatest role in his team's success this season. Voting took place from Monday, January 7 through Monday, January 21 to determine the 2007 Motorola NFL Coach of the Year.

McCarthy was selected as 2007 Motorola NFL Coach of the Year from among five finalists by voters on The other finalists were head coaches BILL BELICHICK of the New England Patriots, JACK DEL RIO of the Jacksonville Jaguars, JOE GIBBS of the Washington Redskins and MIKE TOMLIN of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

The Packer Fan Archive